Faculty

  • faculty

  • Laurence M. Ball

    Professor

    PhD, MIT
    • 410-516-7605
    • lball@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 566
    • Research Interests: Macroeconomics
  • Robert J. Barbera

    Lecturer and Director, Center for Financial Economics

    PhD, Johns Hopkins University
    • 410-516-7615
    • rjb46@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 557
    • Research Interests: Real interest rate/real growth rate linkages, global energy supply/demand issues
  • Filipe Campante

    Bloomberg Distinguished Associate Professor

    PhD, Harvard University
    • 410-516-0557
    • fcampan2@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 594
    • Research Interests: Political Economy
  • Christopher Carroll

    Professor

    PhD, MIT
    • 410-516-7602
    • ccarroll@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 590
    • Research Interests: Macroeconomics, public finance
  • Ying Chen

    Associate Professor

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-6118
    • ying.chen@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 578
    • Research Interests: Game theory, information economics, political economy
  • Brendan Daley

    Ralph S. O'Connor Associate Professor of Economics

    PhD, Stanford University
  • Somasree Dasgupta

    Senior Lecturer

    PhD, Ohio State University
    • 410-516-5564
    • sdasgupta@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 560
    • Research Interests: International Trade, Economic Growth, Macroeconomics
  • Greg Duffee

    Carl Christ Professor of Economics

    PhD, Harvard University
    • 410-516-8828
    • duffee@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 552
    • Research Interests: Finance
  • Marcelo Ariel Fernandez

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, California Institute of Technology
    • fernandez@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 531
    • Research Interests: Microeconomic Theory, Market Design, Matching, Mechanism Design, Political Economy
  • Mark Gersovitz

    Professor

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-7612
    • m.gersovitz@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 574
    • Research Interests: Economic development, public finance
  • Bruce W. Hamilton

    Professor Emeritus

    PhD, Princeton University
    • 410-516-7613
    • bruce.hamilton@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 520
    • Research Interests: Urban economics, public finance, labor economics
  • Yingyao Hu

    Department Chair
    Professor

    PhD, Johns Hopkins University
    • 410-516-7610
    • yhu@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 558
    • Research Interests: Econometrics, empirical industrial organization, labor economics
  • Muhammad Husain

    Senior Lecturer

    PhD, Georgia State University
    • 410-516-5767
    • mhusain8@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 530
    • Research Interests: Labor Economics, Urban Economics, Applied Microeconomics
  • Olivier Jeanne

    Professor

    PhD, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris
    • 410-516-7604
    • ojeanne@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 582
    • Research Interests: International macroeconomics; monetary policy
  • Matthew E. Kahn

    Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Economics and Business, Director of JHU's 21st Century Cities Initiative

    PhD, University of Chicago.
    • mkahn10@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 527
    • Research Interests:  Urban and environmental economics
  • Edi Karni

    Scott and Barbara Black Professor of Economics

    PhD, University of Chicago
    • 410-516-7608
    • karni@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 562
    • Research Interests: Economics of uncertainty and information, decision theory, microeconomic theory
  • M. Ali Khan

    Abram Hutzler Professor of Political Economy

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-8545
    • akhan@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 528
    • Research Interests: Mathematical economics, economic theory, history of economic thought, international and development economics
  • Elena Krasnokutskaya

    Associate Professor

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-7606
    • ekrasno1@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 555
    • Research Interests: Industrial organization, applied microeconomics, applied econometrics
  • Lixiong Li

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, Pennsylvania State University
    • lixiong.li@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 533
    • Research Interests: Microeconometrics; Partial Identification; Applied Industrial Organization
  • Robert A. Moffitt

    Krieger-Eisenhower Professor of Economics

    PhD, Brown University
    • 410-516-7611
    • moffitt@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 526
    • Research Interests: Labor economics, public economics, econometrics, population economics
  • Barbara Morgan

    Senior Lecturer, Undergraduate Economics Advisor

    PhD, Florida State University
    • 410-516-6135
    • bmorgan@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 522
    • Research Interests: Labor economics, public policy
  • Nicholas Papageorge

    Broadus Mitchell Associate Professor

    PhD, Washington University in St. Louis
    • 410-516-4938
    • papageorge@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 521
    • Research Interests: Health, labor, and the economics of innovation
  • Ludmila Poliakova

    Lecturer

    PhD, UC Davis
    • 410-516-5402
    • lpoliakova@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 553
    • Research Interests: Macroeconomics, Development Economics
  • John K.H. Quah

    Professor

    PhD, UC Berkeley
    • 410-516-1014
    • john.quah@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 592
    • Research Interests: Microeconomic theory
  • Richard Spady

    Research Professor

    PhD, MIT
    • 410-516-8237
    • rspady@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 523
    • Research Interests: Econometrics, industrial organization
  • Jonathan Wright

    Professor

    PhD, Harvard University
    • 410-516-5728
    • wrightj@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 584
    • Research Interests: Time series econometrics, empirical macroeconomics, finance
  • professor emeriti

  • Louis Maccini

    Professor Emeritus

    PhD, Northwestern University
    • 410-322-9589
    • maccini@jhu.edu
    • Wyman Park Building 544E
    • Research Interests: Macroeconomic theory, money, econometrics
  • H. Peyton Young

    Professor Emeritus, Research Professor in Economics, Johns Hopkins University

    PhD, University of Michigan
  • fellows

  • Barclay Knapp

    Barclay Knapp

  • joint appointments

  • David Bishai

    Professor, Bloomberg School of Public Health

    MD, UC San Diego; PhD, Wharton Business School
  • Andrew Ching

    Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, University of Minnesota
    • andrew.ching@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: quantitative marketing, industrial organization, applied econometrics, economics and marketing of industries, including pharmaceutical, healthcare, consumer package goods, and video games
  • Michael Darden

    Associate Professor, Carey Business School

    Ph.D. Economics, University of North Carolina
    • mdarden4@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Health Economics; Information Economics; Microeconometrics
  • Itay Fainmesser

    Assistant Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, Harvard University
  • Steve H. Hanke

    Professor, Department of Environmental Health and Engineering

    PhD, University of Colorado
    • hanke@jhu.edu
    • Ames Room 209
    • Research Interests: Applied economics, Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, Finance
  • Pravin Krishna

    Professor, School of Advanced International Studies

    PhD, Columbia University
  • Jian Ni

    Associate Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University
    • jni@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Pricing Strategy, Industrial Organization, Healthcare
  • Mitsukuni Nishida

    Assistant Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, University of Chicago
  • Alessandro Rebucci

    Associate Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, Queen Mary College, University of London
    • arebucci@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: International Finance and Applied Macroeconomics
  • Emilia Simeonova

    Assistant Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, Columbia University
  • Shubhranshu Singh

    Assistant Professor, Carey Business School

    PhD, UC Berkeley
  • Carlos A. Vegh

    Fred Sanderson Professor of International Economics, School of Advanced International Studies

  • Sorry, No Results Found

    Try changing your search terms