Our department and the Krieger School recognize our students and faculty for their contributions and excellence. For more awardees, see our full archive of winners.

Max Hochschild Award

This award goes to a graduating senior with exceptional academic performance and proficiency in economics. The department issues this award to up to two outstanding students each year.

  • 2023-2024, Avnika Dubey, Anora Wu and Connor Mechelke
  • 2022-2023, Jonah Bennett and Allison Li
  • 2021-2022, Jason Rutberg and Sakshi Chopra
  • 2020-2021, Emma Kurtz Freilich and Serena Goldberg
  • 2019-2020, Riya Rana
  • 2018-2019, Oscar Volpe
  • 2017-2018, Abigail Biesman

Professor Joel Dean Undergraduate Teaching Award

This award is given annually to those graduate students who have shown excellence as a teaching assistant or instructor in the undergraduate economics program. The award was initiated by Joel and Monia Dean and generously funded by the Joel Dean Foundation created by Professor Dean in 1957.

  • 2023-2024, John Green, David Osten
  • 2022-2023, Adrian Monninger, Sinem Toraman, Jionglin Zheng
  • 2021-2022, Silin Huang, Tao Wang, Jionglin Zheng
  • 2020-2021, Nino Kodua, Strahil Lepoev, Tao Wang
  • 2019-2020, Melih Firat, Qingyang Han, Tao Wang
  • 2018-2019, Emma Kalish, Shiqi Wang, Xinyu Zhao
  • 2017-2018, Kevin Yuan, Sung Ah Bahk, Andrew Gray

Eugenio and Patricia Castillo Award

This award is given annually to the student who has displayed the best performance in their first two years in the graduate program. It is generously funded by alumnus Eugenio Castillo and his wife, Patricia.

Bruce Hamilton Research Seminar Award

This award is given annually to the advanced graduate student who has demonstrated the best performance in one of the department’s research seminars. It is generously funded by alumnus Eugenio Castillo and his wife, Patricia, and is named in honor of Professor Emeritus Bruce Hamilton who was well-known for his insightful comments at department seminars.

Clarence M. Guggenheimer Award

Established in 1976 by Mrs. Irma H. Guggenheimer in memory of her late husband, this annual award is made to a graduate student who has exhibited outstanding performance in their work toward a PhD.

Ellie E. Slack Award

Established in 1923, the Slack award is made to a graduate student with an exceptional record in a department in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. The award rotates annually across the approximate 20 departments in the school.

  • 2014-15 winner, Shaiza Qayyum

Carl Christ Fellowship Award

The Carl Christ Fellowship fund was established in 1989 to honor one of its faculty members for his distinguished service and achievements. The proceeds of the fund are used to support outstanding graduate students at the dissertation stage of their research.