Honors and Awards

Honors in the Major

Graduating economics majors who have compiled outstanding academic records at Hopkins are awarded Honors in Economics. Note of the honor appears in the Commencement program and on the student’s final transcript. To receive honors, students must have:

  • Taken all economics courses applied to the major within the Economics Department.
  • Taken 180.521-522 Economics Senior Thesis. The thesis may not be counted as one of the five economics electives.
  • A GPA of at least 3.5 for all economics courses.
  • A GPA of at least 3.5 for 180.301-302 and the senior thesis (weighed at 3 credits).

Graduates Earning Departmental Honors

Graduation YearNameThesis
2019Gloria LiOnshore and Offshore RMB Response to Recent Tariff Announcements
2019Emma PaineEvaluation of the Anchoring of Inflation Expectations in Japan
2019Fei Teng
2018Peter Durham
2018Samuel Jackson
2018Yao Lin
2018Yujuan Qiu
2018Zachary Shelley
2018Nakarit Suthapreda
2017Sidharth Sah
2017Yeyi Yun
2016Olga BaranoffHousing Affordability and Income Inequality: The Impact of Demographic Characteristics on Housing Prices in San Francisco
2015Stefan KouumdjievMost Drug Manufacturers Use Reverse Payment Settlements to Divide the Market
2014Davide PiniThe Kuznets Curve and Inequality: A Comparative Study of 27 OECD Countries Across 30 years of Neo-Liberal Economic Policies
2013Xitian WangThe Impact of Microfinance on the Development of Small and Medium Enterprises: The Case of Taizhou, China
2013Evan KeefeInteractions in the Markets for Narrow and Wide-body Commercial Aircraft
2013Daniel W. DiLauroUsing Neuroscience to Understand Risk: Determining the Impact of Culturally Biased Risk Perceptions on Labor Mobility
2013Adria Haiman
2011Jason Gregory Ravit
2011Philp Tucker Wolf
2010Kathryn Treyz Biggart
2010Michael Wolfsohn Chimowitz
2010Tyler David Krus
2010Brett A. Sharoni
2009Tingting Zhou
2008Allyson Christine Seger
2007David Henry Scheltz
2006Ashlyn Marcia Schniederjans
2005Seth Michael Freedman

Senior Thesis

The senior thesis is required for those who wish to be considered for departmental honors and optional for all other seniors. Students wishing to pursue a senior honors thesis need to do the following:

  • They should discuss their interest of pursuing senior thesis with their academic advisor and narrow down possible topics and thesis supervisors by spring semester of their junior year. They should meet with their potential thesis supervisor by spring semester of their junior year as well.
  • In fall semester of senior year, the student should register for Research in Economics (AS 180.521) for two credits.  During this semester, they will work with their thesis supervisor to flesh out the research that they intend to complete in the spring.  If successful, this semester’s work will culminate in a formal senior thesis proposal.  The proposal should lay out the student’s research agenda, making clear that the proposal is feasible and that the topic warrants the research time.  This course is worth two credits.  Successful completion of the course takes the form either of a viable proposal that the student will pursue in the spring or demonstration of a serious good-faith effort and a decision not to proceed with the senior thesis in the spring.
  • If the student produces a viable senior-thesis proposal in the fall while taking Research in Economics, they will register for AS 180.522 Senior Thesis during the spring semester.  They will receive three credits upon successful completion of their senior thesis.  This will be carried out under the direct supervision of the thesis supervisor with whom the student has worked in the fall semester.
  • Students are strongly encouraged to present their senior thesis in a session organized by EPIC at the end of the spring semester. Please contact Dr. Barbara Morgan (bmorgan@jhu.edu) to schedule presentations of senior thesis.

Download senior thesis requirements. (PDF)

Student Awards

Max Hochschild Award

This award goes to a graduating senior with exceptional academic performance and proficiency in economics. The department issues this award to up to two outstanding students each year.

Max Hochschild Awardees

Academic YearName
2020-2021Emma KurtzFreilich and Serena Goldberg
2019-2020Riya Rana
2018-2019Oscar Volpe
2017-2018Abagail Biesman
2016-2017Yeni Yun
2015-2016Risemary Peck
2014-2015Molly McGlone
2013-2014Yujie Qian
2012-2013Evan Keefe
2011-2012Laura Elsener, Timothy McCarty
2010-2011Maura Anne Coughlin
2009-2010Michael Chimowitz
2008-2009Carroll McCallum
2007-2008Nikeeta Khetan
2006-2007Jason Patrick Imbrogno
2005-2006Lisa Goldstein, Travis Crum
2004-2005Seth Michael Freedman
2003-2004Chang Eun Jung
2002-2003Pamela Pen-Erh Pei
2001-2002Joshua David Lustig
2000-2001Anita Alves
1999-2000Brian A. Selmo
1998-1999Rebecca Zarutskie
1997-1998Bernard Chung-Ming Lee, Sang Hyun Lee
1996-1997Glen Taksler
1995-1996Boris Gutin, Nathan Hebel
1994-1995Jon Reuter
1993-1994Joshua Spencer
1992-1993Marc Spear
1991-1992Christopher Ferrante
1990-1991David Schwartz
1989-1990Wan Kim
1988-1989Michael Williams
1987-1988Leora Friedberg
1986-1987Reyna Reed
1985-1986Peter Iacono
1984-1985Thomas Hyonsu Park