Emma Kalish

Emma Kalish

PhD Candidate 2022-2023

ekalish1@jhu.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Wyman Park Building 544E
(608) 446-3157
Personal Website

Research:

"Foster Family Characteristics and Children's Educational Outcomes" (job market paper)

"Medical Innovation and Health Disparities" (with Nick Papageorge, Andres Hincapie and Barton Hamilton)

"Working the System: Unemployment and Foster Care"

"Optimal Taxation and the Great MTR Pivot in U.S. Transfer Programs" (with Robert Moffitt)

"Expectations and Aspirations: What Matters" (with Jodi Miller and Nick Papageorge)

Teaching:

Economics of Social Issues Fall 2020, 2021 (Instructor)
Social Policy Implications of Behavioral Economics Spring 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 (TA)
Financial Writing and Analysis Fall 2022 (TA)
Rethinking Economics After the Great Recession Fall 2022 (TA)
Labor Economics Fall 2021 (TA)
Introduction to Social Policy Fall 2020 (TA)
Economics of Poverty and Inequality Fall 2019 (TA)
Elements of Macro Fall 2018 (TA)

References:

Professor Nick Papageorge - papageorge@jhu.edu
Professor Robert Moffitt - moffitt@jhu.edu
Professor Michael Darden - mdarden4@jhu.edu
Professor Lawrence Berger - lmberger@wisc.edu
Professor Barbara Morgan - bmorgan@jhu.edu

Main Advisor: Nick Papageorge

Thesis Title: "Essays in Labor Economics" (Download Abstract)

Fields: Labor Economics, Health Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Economics of Education, Economics of Poverty