Student Awards

Professor Joel Dean Undergraduate Teaching Award

This award is given annually to those graduate students who have shown excellence as a teaching assistant or instructor in the undergraduate economics program. The award was initiated by Joel and Monia Dean and generously funded by the Joel Dean Foundation created by Professor Dean in 1957.


2015/2016: Ryan Bush, Alanna Bjorklund-Young, Sohini Mahapatra, Chang Ma, and Kevin Yuan [Photo Gallery]
2014/2015: Ryan Bush, Parul Gupta, and Yeabin Moon [Photo Gallery]
2013/2014: Alanna Bjorklund, Ryan Bush, Liuchun Deng, Christopher Martin, and Terrance Oey [Photo Gallery]
2012/2013: Ryan Bush, Blair Chapman, Prathi Seneviratne, Metin Uyanik [Photo Gallery]
2011/2012: Ryan Bush, Blair Chapman, Gizem Kosar, Christopher Martin
2010/2011: James Lake, Nicole Lott, Gwyn Pauley [Photo Gallery]
2009/2010: Maia Linask, Matthew White [Photo Gallery]
2008/2009: Danny Barth, Marc Remer [Photo Gallery]

Eugenio and Patricia Castillo Award

This award is given annually to the student who has displayed the best performance in their first two years in the graduate program. It is generously funded by alumnus Eugenio Castillo and his wife, Patricia.


2015/2016: Edmund Crawley
 2014/2015: Jianhui Li 2013/2014: Chang Ma
2012/2013: Liuchun Deng 2011/2012: Metin Uyanik, Jiaxiong Yao
2010/2011: Gizem Kosar 2009/2010: Ruli Xiao
2008/2009: Matthew White 2007/2008: Weifeng Wu
2006/2007: Yevgeniy Stotyka 2005/2006: Damiano Sandri
2004/2005: King Ki Marconi Chan 2003/2004: Eric Millis
2002/2003: Alena Bicakova 2001/2002: Konstantin Federov
2000/2001: Robert Tchaidze 1999/2000: Misuzu Otsuka/Yingyao Hu
1998/1999: Jacques Miniane 1997/1998: Omer Alper
1996/1997: Chris Geiregat 1995/1996: Tao Wang
1994/1995: Nada Choueiri 1993/1994: Sung Kim
1992/1993: Mary Burke 1991/1992: Forhad Shilpi
1990/1991: Alain D’Hoore 1989/1990: Shinji Yamashige
1988/1989: Philip Gerson 1987/1988: Jinsoo Hahn
1986/1987: David Majerus 1985/1986: Nancy Wagner
1984/1985: Naoko Nishimura 1983/1984: Spyridon Vassilakis

Bruce Hamilton Research Seminar Award

This award is given annually to the advanced graduate student who has demonstrated the best performance in one of the department’s research seminars. It is generously funded by alumnus Eugenio Castillo and his wife, Patricia, and is named in honor of Professor Emeritus Bruce Hamilton who was well-known for his insightful comments at department seminars.


 2015/2016: Sohini Mahapatra 2014/2015: Metin Uyanik
2013/2014: Ryan Bush, Gizem Kosar 2012/2013: Leyla Karakas
2011/2012: Matthew White 2010/2011: James Lake
2009/2010: James Lake 2008/2009: Damiano Sandri
2007/2008: Yonatan Ben-Shalom 2006/2007: Steffen Reinhold
2005/2006: Matthew Raskin 2004/2005: Nicholas Hill
2003/2004: Nicholas Hill 2002/2003: Jacques Miniane


Clarence M. Guggenheimer Award

Established in 1976 by Mrs. Irma H. Guggenheimer in memory of her late husband, this annual award is made to a graduate student who has exhibited outstanding performance in their work toward a Ph.D.


2015/2016: Victor Ronda 2014/2015: Chang Ma

Ellie E. Slack Award

Established in 1923, the Slack award is made to a graduate student with an exceptional record in a department in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. The award rotates annually across the approximate 20 departments in the School.


2014/2015: Shaiza Qayyum

Carl Christ Award

The Christ award is made to an outstanding graduate student at the dissertation stage of their research.


2015/2016: Yi Xin 2014/2015: Metin Uyanik