Faculty

  • ball

    Laurence M. Ball

    Department Chair
    Professor
    Ph.D., MIT

    410.516.7605 lball@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 566

    Research Interests: Macroeconomics

  • balat

    Jorge Balat

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., Yale University

    410.516.5767 jorge.balat@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 535

    Research Interests: Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics, Applied Econometrics

  • carroll

    Christopher Carroll

    Professor
    Ph.D., MIT

    410.516.7602 ccarroll@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 590

    Research Interests: Macroeconomics, Public finance

  • ying_chen

    Ying Chen

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., Yale University

    410.516.6118 ying.chen@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 578

    Research Interests: Game Theory, Information Economics, Political Economy

  • duffee

    Greg Duffee

    Carl Christ Professor of Economics
    Ph.D., Harvard University

    410.516.8828 duffee@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 552

    Research Interests: Finance

  • faust

    Jon Faust

    Louis J. Maccini Professor of Economics
    Ph.D., U.C. Berkeley

    410.516.7607 faustj@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 596

    Research Interests: Econometrics, Macro and Financial economics

  • gersovitz

    Mark Gersovitz

    Professor
    Ph.D., Yale University

    410.516.7612 m.gersovitz@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 574

    Research Interests: Economic development, Public finance

  • hamilton

    Bruce W. Hamilton

    Professor Emeritus
    Ph.D., Princeton University

    410.516.7613 bruce.hamilton@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 520

    Research Interests: Urban economics, Public finance, Labor economics

  • hu

    Yingyao Hu

    Professor
    Ph.D., Johns Hopkins

    410.516.7610 yhu@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 558

    Research Interests: Econometrics, Empirical industrial organization, Labor economics

  • jeanne

    Olivier Jeanne

    Professor
    Ph.D., École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris

    410.516.7604 ojeanne@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 582

    Research Interests: International Macroeconomics; Monetary Policy

  • karni

    Edi Karni

    Scott and Barbara Black Professor of Economics
    Ph.D., University of Chicago

    410.516.7608 karni@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 562

    Research Interests: Economics of uncertainty and information, Decision theory, Microeconomic theory

  • kahn

    M. Ali Khan

    Abram Hutzler Professor of Political Economy
    Ph.D., Yale University

    410.516.8545 akhan@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 528

    Research Interests: Mathematical Economics, Economic Theory, History of Economic Thought, International and Development Economics

  • korinek

    Anton Korinek

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., Columbia University

    410.516.7614 akorinek@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 531

    Research Interests: International Finance; Macroeconomics

  • krasnokutskaya

    Elena Krasnokutskaya

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., Yale University

    410.516.7606 ekrasno1@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 555

    Research Interests: Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics, Applied Econometrics

  • moffitt

    Robert A Moffitt

    Krieger-Eisenhower Professor of Economics
    Ph.D., Brown University

    410.516.7611 moffitt@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 526

    Research Interests: Labor economics, Public economics, Econometrics, Population economics

  • morgan

    Barbara Morgan

    Senior Lecturer, Undergraduate Economics Advisor
    Ph.D., Florida State University

    410.516.6135 bmorgan@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 522

    Research Interests: Labor Economics, Public Policy

  • papageorge

    Nicholas Papageorge

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis

    410.516.4938 papageorge@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 521

    Research Interests: Health, Labor & the Economics of Innovation

  • JohnQuah

    John K.H. Quah

    Professor
    Ph.D., UC Berkeley

    410.516.1014 john.quah@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 592

    Research Interests: Microeconomic theory

  • sasaki

    Yuya Sasaki

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., Brown University

    410.516.5564 sasaki@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 560

    Research Interests: Econometrics

  • spady

    Richard Spady

    Research Professor
    Ph.D., MIT

    410.516.8237 rspady@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 523

    Research Interests: Econometrics, Industrial Organization

  • Takahashi

    Yuya Takahashi

    Assistant Professor
    Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

    410 516 7615 ytakahashi@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 557

    Research Interests: Empirical Industrial Organization, Labor Economics

  • Jonathan Wright headshot

    Jonathan Wright

    Professor
    Ph.D, Harvard University

    410.516.5728 wrightj@jhu.edu Wyman Park Building 584

    Research Interests: Time Series Econometrics, Empirical Macroeconomic and Finance

Professor Emeriti

  • christ

    Carl F. Christ

    Professor Emeritus
    Ph.D., University of Chicago

    410.516.7601 cchrist@jhu.edu Mergenthaler Hall 440

    Research Interests: Macroeconomics, Money, Econometrics, Economic policy

  • maccini

    Louis Maccini

    Professor Emeritus
    Ph.D., Northwestern University

    410.516.7601 maccini@jhu.edu Mergenthaler Hall 440

    Research Interests: Macroeconomic theory, Money, Econometrics

  • young

    H. Peyton Young

    Professor Emeritus, Research Professor in Economics, Johns Hopkins University
    Ph.D., University of Michigan

    202.797.6025 peyton.young@economics.ox.ac.uk

    Research Interests: Game theory, Evolutionary economics, Microeconomic theory

  • Fellows

    BarberaRobert J. Barbera rjb46@jhu.edu
    Co-Director, Center for Financial Economics
    Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
    Office: Wyman Park Building 594
    Office Hours:  Wednesday 1:30-3:00pm and Thursday 1:30-3:00pm or by Appointment
    Phone: 410.516.0557

    Barclay Knapp – jbknapp22@yahoo.com
    Managerial Economics & Business Strategy

    Joint Appointments

    David Bishai, Bloomberg School of Public Health
    Professor, dbishai@jhu.edu
    M.D., UC San Diego; Ph.D., Wharton Business School
    Health Economics
    Office: Wyman Park Building 527
    Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:00pm

    Joshua M. Epstein, School of Medicine
    Professor, jepste15@jhmi.edu
    Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Mathematical and computational modeling of social dynamics
    Office: Wyman Park Building 530

    Itay Fainmesser, Carey Business School
    Assistant Professor, Itay_Fainmesser@jhu.edu
    Ph.D. Harvard University
    Business Economics
    Office Hours:  By Appointment

    Steve H. Hanke, Department of Environmental Health and Engineering
    Professor, hanke@jhu.edu
    Ph.D., University of Colorado
    Applied economics, Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, Finance
    Office: Ames Room 209
    Office Hours: Monday through Friday 4:00-5:00pm

    Pravin Krishna, School of Advanced International Studies
    Professor, Pravin_Krishna@jhu.edu
    Ph.D., Columbia University
    International trade
    Office: Wyman Park Building 595
    Office Hours: Tuesday 4:00-5:00pm

    Jian Ni, Carey Business School
    Associate Professor, jni@jhu.edu
    Ph.D., Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University
    Industrial Organization

    Mitsukuni Nishida, Carey Business School
    Assistant Professor, nishida@jhu.edu
    Ph.D., University of Chicago
    Industrial Organization

    Alessandro Rebucci, Carey Business School
    Assistant Professor, arebucci@jhu.edu
    Ph.D. Queen Mary College, University of London
    International Finance and Applied Macroeconomics

    Emilia Simeonova, Carey Business School
    Assistant Professor, Emilia.simeonova@jhu.edu
    Ph.D. Columbia University
    Health Economics

    Shubhranshu Singh, Carey Business School
    Assistant Professor, shubhranshu.singh@jhu.edu
    Ph.D. UC Berkeley
    Business Administration (Marketing)

    Carlos A. Vegh School of Advanced International Studies
    Fred Sanderson Professor of International Economics,
    veghcarlos@gmail.com

    Adjunct Faculty

    Trent Bertrand
    Adjunct Professor, Dept of Economics,  Johns Hopkins University
    Ph.D. Economics – Cornell University
    Trent.Bertrand@jhu.edu
    Office: Wyman Park Building 553
    Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 1:15-2:15pm